I'm a-Live!

by Shijaz Abdulla on 30.12.2008 at 16:14

The hosting company that hosts my website over at www.shijaz.com was upgrading their servers, and they wanted me to make some DNS changes so that I can point to the new servers.

I considered this a good opportunity to make use of Windows Live, the free hosting services from Microsoft. It rocks!

To make use of this service, you need to register a internet domain name, and then create an account at domains.live.com. This basically involves making some DNS changes. If you want to login to Hotmail (now Windows Live Mail) and send out & receive email using you@yourdomain.com email address, you just need to making your MX record point to Hotmail. You get a free 500 GB mailbox! The tasks mentioned in the website are easy to follow.

You can also "brand" Hotmail so that it looks like your own stuff. Here’s what I did with mine:

image

image

I also installed the Outlook Connector on my PC, which lets me access my email using Outlook, and synchronize my email, calendar and contacts – just like Outlook Anywhere/RPC over HTTP!

image

If you create an optional SRV record on your domain, you can even login to Windows Live Messenger using you@yourdomain.com as the sign-in name.

image

How to make an SPF record

by Shijaz Abdulla on 16.03.2008 at 13:06

Sender Policy Framework (SPF) is a mechanism used to help prevent spam. Basically, an SPF record is a record in your organization’s DNS server that announces to the world the IP adddreses from which you normally send out email.

Hence, if another server receives email supposedly from your SMTP domain, the server first checks if the session was established from one of the IP addresses you listed in your SPF record. If not, the message is mostly likely spam.

So how do you define an SPF record. This can get a little tricky. But Microsoft has a wizard that lets you create an SPF record easily. Check it out:

http://www.microsoft.com/mscorp/safety/content/technologies/senderid/wizard/

thesource.ofallevil.com

by Shijaz Abdulla on 03.02.2007 at 19:55

Some sly person registered a domain “ofallevil.com” and created CNAMEs like:

thesource.ofallevil.com pointing to www.microsoft.com
theroot.ofallevil.com pointing to www.verisign.com

I found this while doing an innocent search on Google. I did a WhoIs lookup on ofallevil.com and this is what I found.